Beyond the landscape

Regional and transboundary conservation initiatives:

Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KaZa)

The Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area, or KAZA TFCA, is potentially the world’s largest conservation area, spanning five southern African countries; Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, centred around the Caprivi-Chobe-Victoria Falls area.

» Read more

Mudumu North Complex

Foremed in 2005, the Mudumu North Complex is effectively the predecessor ot the Mudumu Landscape. The Mudumu North Complex:

  • is a cluster of resource management areas including the Kwandu, Mashi, Mayuni and Sobbe Conservancies, the Kwandu, Lubutu and Masida Community Forests, the Mudumu National Park and the eastern section of Bwabwata National Park. It has the mission to work together to rehabilitate and manage the area’s fauna and flora, and guide the development of tourism and resource use for social, cultural and economic benefits through collaborative management of conservancies, community forests and national parks.
  • aims to accomplish goals greater than any smaller unit could achieve on its own.
  • embraces an area of particularly high biodiversity along both sides of the Kwando River and covers about 3,400 square kilometres.
  • is headed by a Senior Decision-Maker’s Forum consisting of representatives from the conservancies, community forests, traditional authorities, NGOs and public service agencies.
  • has a Management Committee to coordinate joint management activities including land-use planning and zoning, human wildlife conflict mitigation, resource monitoring, fire management, sustainable agriculture and the sustainable use of forest resources.
  • has a Technical Support Group made up of government, NGO and donor-funded support project staff and a number of working groups addressing specific issues such as law enforcement, enterprise development and marketing
  • the Kyaramacan Association, which represents the residents of the Bwabwata National Park is also a member of the Mudumu North Complex, and is engaged in activities such as joint fire management of Bwabwata National Park, joint concession management, joint game counts in Bwabwata National Park, joint Bwabwata National Park management meetings, anti-poaching, and Bwabwata National Park Technical Steering Committee meetings.

Mudumu South Complex

The Mudumu South Complex in the Kwando-Linyanti triangle is made up of Mudumu and Nkasa-Rupara  National Parks and Balyerwa, Wuparo, Dzoti and Shikhakhu Conservancies.

Mudumu North Complex and Mudumu South Complex lie adjacent to each other embedded in a much larger landscape within Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, known as the Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KAZA TFCA).

Despite the richness of its biodiversity, MSC is currently faced with differing and often incompatible land uses which need to be harmonised with each other.

A collaborative management plan for the Mudumu South Complex and an institutional arrangement was developed in 2010. Implementation of the plan is currently underway.

The principles for establishing the MSC are as follows:

  1. Participation should be completely voluntary;
  2. Participation should be as inclusive as possible, including civil society, traditional leadership and government;
  3. Technical advisors should advise and provide information on demand;
  4. Issues covered should be confined to issues of common concern that would benefit from collaborative management or initiative;
  5. The complex should not undermine the independence of the individual entities;
  6. The complex should provide a forum for positive conflict resolution between entities


To maintain and increase wildlife populations through collaboration and working together in the management of conservancies, national parks, wetlands and other natural resources thereby allowing tourism to grow for the social, cultural and economic benefit of the area and its people.


There are 10 strategies for the MSC:

  1. Land use planning and zonation
  2. Human wildlife conflict (HWC) mitigation
  3. Game re-introductions
  4. Wildlife protection
  5. Community awareness
  6. Fire management
  7. Habitat management
  8. Tourism and enterprise development
  9. Sustainable use of wildlife and other natural resources
  10. Impact Monitoring